Protected Ecosystem and Scenery Areas


Protected Ecosystem and Scenery Areas The animals that are investigated and reported to live in Korea are very diverse; however, it is the situation that the ecosystem is disturbed by the activities such as land developments and the biodiversity is becoming simpler and simpler. Like this, in order to appropriately protect the natural ecosystems that are increasingly undermined due to various development projects or others like this, the government designated protection-requiring areas as the ecosystem & landscape preservation area for management.

The ecosystem & landscape preservation area shall be designated by the Minister of Environment in accordance with the Natural Environment Protection Law (the sea areas are designated by the Minister of Maritime Affairs and Fisheries before the revision of the Natural Environment Preservation Law; the areas deemed as necessary to be preserved as the quasi-preservation areas shall be designated as the city/province ecological landscape preservation areas by mayors/ governors.

According to the data of December 2016, the state-designated ecosystem & landscape preservation areas are 9 areas including Jirisan (241.613㎢); the city/province ecological landscape preservation areas are a total of 32 areas (279.340㎢) including 23 areas (37.727㎢) such as the Hangang Bamseom.

What are Protected Ecosystem and Scenery Areas?

  • The areas larger in preservation and scientific research value with the primitiveness in the natural state or abundance in biodiversity
  • The areas requiring preservation for scientific researches or maintenance of the landscapes due to the uniqueness of the terrain or geology
  • Sample areas of regions or ecosystems that can represent a variety of the ecosystems
  • The areas requiring preservation particularly due to the beauty of the natural landscapes such as rivers, mountains, valleys and other sceneries

Designation status

  • Designation basis: Article 12 of the Natural Environment Preservation Law
  • Designation procedures: Preparing the designation proposal -> Collecting opinions of mayors/governor and local residents
    • -> Consult the related government agencies -> Designation/Notice
  • Designation status: 32 areas, about 279.340㎢
    • Designated by the Ministry of Environment 9 places, 241.613㎢
    • Designated by mayors or governors 23 places, 37.727㎢